My Daddy told Me

One day my daddy handed me a book.  Said, “Son, open this book, turn the combination, turn it into a black hole, and jump inside.  There’s a treasure at the end.”  Like a dutiful son just wanting to please him, I did just as he said.  I turned that book into a black hole and jumped inside.  And then I died, thousands of times.  I thought I was being the good Samaritan.  Turns out I was being the robbed and half-to-death beaten journeyman.

But my daddy had said to me, “Open the book, turn the combination lock, turn it into a black hole and jump inside.”  There was one other thing he said.  He said it would be bitter in the belly, but quite sweet in the mouth.

And the monsters I would face…And the demons I would race…Oh, Dad who gave me this book, where are you now?  Where are you now?  There ain’t no prize at the end of this jungle.  There ain’t no happiness at the end of this Laberynth.  You was just goofing, wasn’t ya, Dad?

 

Leave a Reply

